Posted on June 12, 2017 8:57 pm
 |  Asked by Bryan Vance
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

I have our 7150s set to send logs to our sys log server but am having trouble finding documentation on how to set the levels we want. When I go to “logging level ?”, I see a long list of facilities and then under “logging level [facility] ?” I see the different levels. Is it possible to select multiple facilities and then their levels? Where is some good documentation on this?



Posted by Harshita Rastogi
Answered on June 12, 2017 10:09 pm

Hello Bryan,

You can set different logging level of each facility by using below command. In  the below command, ZTP is a facility 

#logging level ztp ?

  alerts         Immediate action needed           (severity=1)

  critical       Critical conditions               (severity=2)

  debugging      Debugging messages                (severity=7)

  emergencies    System is unusable                (severity=0)

  errors         Error conditions                  (severity=3)

  informational  Informational messages            (severity=6)

  notifications  Normal but significant conditions (severity=5)

  warnings       Warning conditions                (severity=4)

  <0-7>          Severity level value

You can select all to set same logging level for all the facilities.

You can find more details on logging command in our manual in chapter Command line-interface. Please find the link to download manual below


Posted by Mitu Mitu
Answered on June 13, 2017 9:51 am


The logging level can be specified for different facilities (eg. aaa, ospf, vxlan, etc.). We can configure different logging levels for different facilities.

For instance:

Arista(config)#logging level aaa 1

Arista(config)#logging level accounting 6

Arista(config)#show logging

Syslog logging: enabled

    Buffer logging: level debugging

    Console logging: level errors

    Monitor logging: level errors

    Synchronous logging: disabled

    Trap logging: level informational

    Sequence numbers: disabled

    Syslog facility: local4

    Hostname format: Hostname only

    Repeat logging interval: disabled


Facility                   Severity            Effective Severity

——————–       ————-       ——————

aaa                        alerts              alerts

accounting                 informational       informational

acl                        debugging           debugging



We can also trap the logs and send them to an external server. This is documented in Chapter 3 of the EOS 4.18.2F Manual (Page 110).



Posted by Piotr
Answered on June 13, 2017 11:12 am


You can find all details in EOS manual. You can get it from Arista software download page.

What you are looking for is ‘logging trap system severity <level>’:

• 0 or emergencies

• 1 or alerts

• 2 or critical

• 3 or errors

• 4 or warnings

• 5 or notifications

• 6 or informational

• 7 or debugging

You will receive messages from specified level and all above.

Posted by Bryan Vance
Answered on June 23, 2017 4:11 pm

Thank you all for your replies. They were all very helpful.

Post your Answer

You must be logged in to post an answer.